Solo Brazilian mom wants to move to Australia!

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Lora C Lora C 1 month ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Lora C Lora C 
    Participant

Hi, everyone!

I suppose there’s lots of Australian queens here, so I figured I could ask for some advice/ideas on how to plan my move.
    Long story short, I am a 25 year old Brazilian, with an 8 months old son. I am a solo mom, my baby never met his dad. I ran away from him while pregnant, because the relationship was abusive (he has narcissistic personality disorder). So I flew from the U.S. where I met him back to Brazil when I was 8 months pregnant, and while healing from all the shit I went through I started my small business. I make stuff for moms and babies, 100% hand and mom-made: facebook.com/ladymadonnamommade
    I have a B.A. in Tourism and I am also a permaculturist and farmer, and have been working with it for a few years now.

So I have this dream that goes way back that is to live in Australia. Now I feel like I have to start making plans, but I know very few people who lived there, and no Australians at all, so I wanted to know if you guys could help me with what should I expect and be prepared for.

For example, could I get a job under the table with a tourist visa (like I did in the US) or are the rules very strict? How difficult would it be for me to be involved in the community being a Latino solo single mom? Ideas on how to make a living and which cities to go? How’s the living cost? etc..

Thank you and Happy New Year!

<3

Profile photo of Cat Cat 
    Participant