Shit mom :'(

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Melanie Jane Melanie Jane 1 month, 3 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Flo Flo 
    Participant

Hiya queens. I really need to vent. I’m in tears but that’s not so extraordinary: it happens a lot lately. The problem is I feel like a real bad mother. My oldest son (4yo) is autistic and although he is a charm and I love him to death, he sometimes drives me insane. I feel like I’m not handling this shit. Being a psychologist, I feel I should do better. I have all the knowledge and the tools but now that it’s my own child, I’m just no good. It’s just that I’m so damn tired all of the time. I get up tired and feel tired all day and go to sleep feeling tired. I’m a fulltime mom and although that’s how I wanted it, I chose this life, I’m so jealous of my husband who goes to work in the morning. Man, would I love to be in some boring meeting. I love my two boys very much and I want to be a mom who has fun with her kids and teaches them things and instead I get annoyed when they cry or call me or spill or I have to wipe their butts. I smile at them, and think “just leave me alone for one fucking second!”. I yell and I even slapped my son’s butt.
    The other day my husband let me sleep in. I woke up, not feeling exhausted. That entire day I was a sweet, inventive, patient, fun mom. To think I could be this mom if I just wasn’t tired all the time.
    The last two years were very tough for me. My last pregnancy was hard, we didn’t know if our baby was gonna be okay and I suffered from severe pelvic instability. I almost died delivering him, and it took quite some time to recover. He’s now 16mo and I feel like I never really recovered at all. I’m just not who I was before.
    Hopefully, I don’t sound like I’m full of self pity. I guess I’m just hoping I’m not the only shit mom around 😏