A schoolie question – stuck between a rock and a hard place

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of fanbrits johnson fanbrits johnson 1 month, 3 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Bec Bec 
    Participant

Hi all,
    I have a school question regarding my 7 year old boy. Frankly, I have the shits big time with his school and I don’t know what to do.
    We live in an isolated area. There are only two schools in the area: the school where I work which is all indigenous and the one which my son attends. I am studying teaching full time and my partner and I also work as teacher aides. The school where I work is ruled out as an option for my boy for various reasons. Some may think this is racially motivated, but it’s more to do with cultural differences, academic achievement, and behavioral issues that I can see he would either become a part of or become a victim of. I love the kids and I love the school, but it’s not right for him.
    Anyway…
    He has always been a rambunctious handful. He’s high-energy, likes to show off and needs constant attention. He is also very awesome because of the same reasons. Ever since he started at the school (which is very small- 30 kids from prep to year 6), we have had constant reports of misbehavior. We are fairly stern parents and we have tried EvErYtHiNg to stop him mucking around. Bottom line is, he acts before he thinks and gets very excited about school.